Savini Views AutoCad Help

Another way of controllinc your views is by saving them. You might think of savinC views as a way of creatine a bookmark or placehglder in your drawing. You’ll . see hew to save views in the following set of’exercises.A few walls in the Plan drawing are not complete. You’ll need to zoom in to the areas that nee. work te atici the lines, )Putthese areas are s,read eut over the .rawinc. You coul. use the Aerial View window t. view each area. There is, however, another way te etiit wi.ely separateti areas: First, save views of the areas you want to work en, and then jump from saved view te saved view. This technique is especially helpful when you knew you will often want to return to a specific area of your drawing.

1. First.vose the Aerial View window by clicking the Close .button in the upperleft comer of the window,
2. Click View >Zoom >- All, or type Z.J A.J, to get an overall view of the plan.
3. Click View >Named Views or type V.J. The View dialog box appear
4. Make sure the Named Views tab is selected, then dick the New button. The New View dialog box appears .
You’ll notice some options that deal with the User Coordinate System (UCS). You’ll get a chance to look at the UCS in Chapter 15. For now, you’ll concentrate on creating a new view.
5. Clickthe Define Window radio button. Notice that the grayed buttcn to the right, the Define View Window button, becomes available.
6. Click the Define View Window button. The dialog boxes momentarily disappear.
7 At the .specify first corner-: prompt; click near the coordinate 26′,40″ (1715,1150 for metric users). You don’t have to be exact because you are selecting view windows. Also, if you have Running Osnaps turned on, you,  may want to turn it off while selecting view windews.
8 At the Speci fy opposi te corner prompt, click a location near the coordinate 91 ‘,82’ (2600,2,500 for metric users): The dialog boxes reappear.
9. Click the View

Now let’s see how to recall these,views that you’ve saved.

1 With the View dialog box open, click First in the list of views

If you prefer, you can use the keyboard to invoke the View command and thus avoid aUthe dialog boxes .

1. Click View >- Zoom ‘2>- Extents, or type Z.J E.J.
2: Enter -View.J s.J at the command prompt or use the -V.J s.J shortcut. (Don’t forget the minus sign in front of View or V.)
3. At the Enter vi ew name to save: prompt, enter Overall.J.
4. Now save the Plan file to disk.
5 you can see, this is a quick way to save a view. With the name Overall assigned to this view, you can easily recall the Overall view at any time. (The View >- Zoom >- All option gives you an overall view; too, but it may zoom out too far for some purposes, or it may not show what you might consider to be an overall view.)

Openinig a Fiie as Read’ Only

Wh”n you open an eXisting file, ycu migr. have r.ot.ced the Resd Only Mode check box in tne Open Drawing dialog box. If you open a file with this option checked. AutoCAD does not let you save the file under its original name. You can still edit the drawing any way you please, but If’yoll attempt to use File:> Save you vIiI! get the message is wri te-protected, You can, however, save your changed fender another name.. , . /
The read-omy rnooe provides a way to protect irncortant files from accidental It also offers another method for reus1l’>gsettings ?’ld objects from existing files by lettiny you open a fileas d prototype, and then salling the file uncsr another ‘name

Understanding the Frozen Layer Option

As mentioned earlier, you maywis.i to turn certain layer.; off altogether to plot a drawing constaining only selected layers. But even when layers are turned off, Autr .CAD still takes the !ime to redraw and regenerate them, The Layer Properties Manager dialog box offers the Freeze opticn that acts like! the Off option, except that Freeze causes AutoCAD to ignore frozen layers when redrawing and regenerating a draw L.’1~.By freezing layers that are not needed for reference or editing, you can reduce the time AutoCAD takes to perform regens. This can be helpful in very large, multi-megabyte files.

You should be aware, however, that the Freeze option affects blocks in an unusual Why. the following exercise to see firsthand how the Freeze option makes entire bocks invisible.

1. Use the Laye Properties Manager dialog box to set the current layer to O.

2. Click the yellow hghtbulb icon in the Plan! layer list;’13 to turn off that layer, and then dick OK. Nothing happens to yeu!’ drawing. ‘Iurnir.g off the Plan l laver, the layer on which tIle urut blocks w ere inserted, has no effect.
3. Now use the Lcyer Properties Mal lager diclog box to n~m 9ff:, II of the layers.
4. Cho se View ~ Regen, or type re.J.
5. Open the Layer Properties Manager dialog box again and turn all of the laycrs back on.
6 Now click the Plan] layer’s Freeze/Thaw icon, which is the .ne that looks like a sun. (Note that yeu cannot freeze the current layer.) The yellew sun icen changes te agray snowflake indicatlng that the layer is new frozen
7 Click OK. Now the unit blocks disappear. Even though none of the objects within the unitblocks were drawn on the Planllayer, when Planl is frozen, so are the entire contents of the blocks assigned to the Planllayer.
8 Issue the Regen command again and pay attention to the time it takes. The regen is faster this time.
9 Now, thaw layer Planl by opening the Layer Properties Manager dialog box and clicking the Snowflake icon in the Planl layer listing.
10. Turn off the Ceiling layer. Exit the dialog box.

In this relatively small file, the ifferences between the re~en times of the eff state versus the Freeze state are small. ut in larger files, the difference can be significant. As your drawings become larger, try this exercise again to see how Off versus Freeze affects your regen speed.

Posted on November 7, 2015 in Enhancing Your Drawing Skills

Share the Story

Back to Top
Share This